Yesterday - Today


Inadequacy

09:54, 19 May 2003

Yesterday was Piyush's graduation. I felt totally weird because such things are family events-- who the fuck am I to be there? The two-month old girlfriend. Nobody. I felt extra. At least M.J. was there so I had someone else to be extra with. She really is fun; I hope we are good friends next year.

Graduation was good. The L.L.M. commencement dinner was good. Going out afterwards was not good. It was one of those "bad karma" nights-- a night when everyone should have just gone to bed. Piyush was tired and stressed trying to entertain everyone. I was annoying myself with my "needy girlfriend" mood. I guess I just wanted some attention, but I ended up being sad and feigning stoicism, you know: smoking a cigarette and staring off as if I was lost in thought... stupid stupid stupid retard. Just what Piyush needed, right? An infant tugging on his sleeve.

Of course, I talked to anyone that would listen about how much I like Piyush and how I wish he would tell me what he feels. And everyone said the same thing: talk to him about it, have a serious discussion where you tell him how you feel. Ha. Like I'm going to do that. Please. I can't even have a serious discussion with myself about how I feel. And I'm so afraid. This is such a boring topic right now because I'm just so annoyed with myself and my neediness and how I'm such a pain in Piyush's ass. I hope he's not mad at me.

Right now, though, I want to vomit. I just met with my "boss" for the summer, the appellate lawyer for whom I'm working. He gave me this huge 7th circuit case that I have to brief by Friday so he can write his argument by May 30. Then I have to fly to Chicago with him and help him with last-minute details of adjusting the argument during trial, etc. God, I am practically crying right now with inadequacy. I am so not good enough for this. I am so overwhelmed, over my head, clueless as to how to begin or what to do. I want to do such a good job but I don't even know how. I can't brief a 7th Circuit case! Holy shit! This prisoner is relying on this appeal and little does he know that this hapless, nauseous idiot is shouldering a large portion of his case. How did I end up here? Who thought I could do this? I sat there getting my assignment, nodding and taking notes and looking, for all intents and purposes, like I had all my ducks in a row. My ducks, my ducks, they're flying all over the place. My ducks are roasted with orange sauce and I am completely incapable.

Now I have to call Piyush and wake him up and I'm a totally idiotic girlfriend as well. Sigh.

When I am pinned and wriggling on the wall,
Then how should I begin
To spit out all the butt-ends of my days and ways?
And how should I presume?


Last Five Entries
Cheeryface - 30 July 2003
Belli Denuntiatio - 27 July 2003
Weird - 27 July 2003
Runty Jew - 26 July 2003
Small World - 26 July 2003

Choose an Entry at Random


Do you like me? Validate my existence by taking my survey.
If you really like me you can vote for me as one of the Top 100 diaries on Diaryland.

My review from Geek Reviews.
My review from Quite Nasty Reviews.
My review from Wickedly Good Reviews.
My review from Sweet Reviews.

Visitors:

new old email guestbook profile evilgnome designs diaryland