Yesterday - Today


A Truly Happy Fourth

11:18, 04 July 2003

I feel like someone who has had a near brush with death and, given a second chance at life, sees every little thing as new and sparkling and wondrous. I appreciate everything about riding again. I walked today, the rythymic sway of my horse's body beneath me as familiar as my own gait. The mountains shrugged their shoulders and wrapped their foothills protectively around the fields and barns. A hawk hung, suspended, like a droplet in the sky, before sliding downward, languidly spiraling. The smell of my horse's warm neck mixed with the scent of leather and the grass below. I passed the dressage ring, the massive warmbloods light on their feet, dancing with the synchronisation of the secret conversations with their riders. My horse's ears flicked and he shook his head, snorting. Somewhere, a horse whinnied, a deep and breathy wheeze that filled our small valley as if the furrowed hills themselves were sighing.

I drove back to Los Angeles, swinging through Cahuenga Pass as the Rascals and I sang, loud and smiling: "It's a beautiful morning, / aaaah... I think I'll go outside for a while / and just smile... / just take in some clean fresh air, now..." It is truly a beautiful morning, and I am happy today. It will be a good day; it has already begun being a good day.

Party in Malibu at Adeline's; party in Santa Monica at Limes' boyfriend's house. Friends and smiles and sunblock and my cute red and blue striped skirt. Drinks and danceable music and cigarettes and laughter. Happy Fourth of July.


Last Five Entries
Cheeryface - 30 July 2003
Belli Denuntiatio - 27 July 2003
Weird - 27 July 2003
Runty Jew - 26 July 2003
Small World - 26 July 2003

Choose an Entry at Random


Do you like me? Validate my existence by taking my survey.
If you really like me you can vote for me as one of the Top 100 diaries on Diaryland.

My review from Geek Reviews.
My review from Quite Nasty Reviews.
My review from Wickedly Good Reviews.
My review from Sweet Reviews.

Visitors:

new old email guestbook profile evilgnome designs diaryland