Yesterday - Today


Malady

12:12, 14 July 2003

I initially hauled myself in here to write an account of my morning's misery from within a cloud of anguish and fatigue, but by the time I started typing, all the discomfort and pain had quickly subsided, leaving me with post-nap puffy eyes as my biggest complaint.

Soon after I got to work and sat down at my computer, I began to feel something in my stomach... but it was hard to define. The feeling seemed to vacillate between hunger and upset stomach, alternating pangs and cramps punctuating a steady ache. I waited to see if one or the other feeling would begin winning out. I ate half a cup of blueberries in the hopes that perhaps I was just nauseous with hunger. Within half an hour, the pain, coming in sharp crimps around the mounting pressure in my gut, had overcome any hunger. My stomach felt increasingly bloated, as if it held a ball of yeast dough that was expanding inexorably against my insides.

Exhausted. freezing cold and in extreme discomfort, I went down to the lounge area, which was thankfully deserted. I lied down on my stomach first, to see if external pressure might mitigate the cramps and distention. I eventually ended up curled in a foetal position and slept like that for an hour, my grey fleece jacket wrapped around my body and head until I seemed a fuzzy grey stone on an unyeilding commercial couch.

I woke up to the same pain, unabated. I just wanted to go home and crawl into my own bed, but I couldn't. Even if I didn't have to meet with my boss today, I still wouldn't be able to go anywhere since my car is getting its oil changed until 14:00. I lurched into the bathroom, unsure of whether I was going to use the toilet, throw up in it or just sit on the lid with my head on my knees. I chose the latter and, suddenly, as quickly and mysteriously as it came, the pain and discomfort melted away. I've been fine ever since. What was that all about?


Last Five Entries
Cheeryface - 30 July 2003
Belli Denuntiatio - 27 July 2003
Weird - 27 July 2003
Runty Jew - 26 July 2003
Small World - 26 July 2003

Choose an Entry at Random


Do you like me? Validate my existence by taking my survey.
If you really like me you can vote for me as one of the Top 100 diaries on Diaryland.

My review from Geek Reviews.
My review from Quite Nasty Reviews.
My review from Wickedly Good Reviews.
My review from Sweet Reviews.

Visitors:

new old email guestbook profile evilgnome designs diaryland