Yesterday - Today


Sleepy Mornings

16:35 EST, 05 April 2003

I woke up this morning to the familiar far away sound of my parents' voices and the tining of silverware against breakfast plates. It was a childhood sound, recalling mornings, like this one, when I slept past nine, waking gradually, drifting in and out and in and finally out of sleep. It was the sound of Mom in her robe with the business section and a buttered croissant and Dad in his slippers with the automobiles section and a bowl of Raisin Bran. It was the promise of the fresh Swedish pancakes my father would whip up. It was the sound that drew nearer and nearer as I descended the stairs in rumpled pajamas, hair askew as I rubbed bits of sleep from my eyes. It was a sound that connected me to former selves, that showed clear the thread of myself that has woven through all the different fabrics of my life.


Last Five Entries
Cheeryface - 30 July 2003
Belli Denuntiatio - 27 July 2003
Weird - 27 July 2003
Runty Jew - 26 July 2003
Small World - 26 July 2003

Choose an Entry at Random


Do you like me? Validate my existence by taking my survey.
If you really like me you can vote for me as one of the Top 100 diaries on Diaryland.

My review from Geek Reviews.
My review from Quite Nasty Reviews.
My review from Wickedly Good Reviews.
My review from Sweet Reviews.

Visitors:

new old email guestbook profile evilgnome designs diaryland