Yesterday - Today


Anywhere But Here

21:41, 27 June 2003

I haven't done a lick of work in two days. I just, basically, took yesterday and today off. It's been so beautiful here in LA, finally, after an entire June of overcast and mid-sixties. And lately it's been low-eighties and sparkling sunshine. I got a million errands done these past two days, driving between them blasting the Beach Boys. It struck me as amazing that here I am, (objectively) a hot blonde chick in a tight ride cruising down the streets of Southern California... I am the modern-day equivalent of the girls Brian Wilson is singing about. That made me smile. Think how many people want my life. I bet a life-swapping service would be very lucrative. I, Los Angeles-dwelling law student, would like to switch with London-dwelling student. Or Paris-dwelling. Or New York-dwelling. Or anywhere-but-here dwelling. Why is it that all I want is anywhere-but-here? I would still be me no matter where I went, and frankly, I don't think it is the locale that is the problem. I think it's me. And no matter where I go, there I am. Dammit.

Regardless, I enjoyed today. Why do I have to have a job? I did quite well filling today with productive activities like bringing things to the dry cleaners and putting gas in my car. I even went grocery shopping and to the gym. See what a banner day I had? I'm sorry, but I just can't lock myself in that horrid library when it is so nice outside. Besides, I really am waiting for that school to stop being such a minefield of memories. Honestly, there is not a corner I turn that doesn't run me smack into a memory of Piyush and I in our golden days. That's what you get for dating a guy at your school/workplace: pollution. The entire place is slimed with the oil our tanker spilled when it capsized.

(Side-note: How can one gin & diet Sprite have gotten me so drunk right now? Oh, yeah. I am the bartender.)

I'm waiting for Lee-Ann to call. We're going out tonight--who the fuck knows. I don't care. It's a plan, right? Everyone needs Friday night plans. I can't say that I haven't been hoping that Piyush calls to ask what I'm doing. I feel like everyone else has better things to do than write nonsense in a journal at 21:14 on a Friday night. I feel like everyone else is out to dinner, out with friends, out laughing and having a blast and somehow I've been completely forgotten. I feel like everyone thinks I'm out having fun too--sometimes putting up a front of "superpopular well-adjusted girl" can backfire, I suppose.

Tomorrow will be a better day. In the morning I'm going to Middle Ranch to meet the guys I might be riding for soon. Tasha wants me to ride five horses for her every Wednesday, regardless, so I know I'll have riding in my near future. Tomorrow I also get to hang out with Limes again. She's moving into her new apartment. I got her a housewarming gift and I just know she's going to love it. One of my most favourite things in the whole world is giving someone I like a gift that I know is perfect for him or her. No wonder it pissed me off so much when Piyush didn't even give a shit when I gave him his graduation gift. I was about to call him an asshole, but then I realised that doing so would only make it obvious that I haven't perfected my indifference towards him quite yet. God DAMN do I need a new victim to ply my psychological experiments upon.


Last Five Entries
Cheeryface - 30 July 2003
Belli Denuntiatio - 27 July 2003
Weird - 27 July 2003
Runty Jew - 26 July 2003
Small World - 26 July 2003

Choose an Entry at Random


Do you like me? Validate my existence by taking my survey.
If you really like me you can vote for me as one of the Top 100 diaries on Diaryland.

My review from Geek Reviews.
My review from Quite Nasty Reviews.
My review from Wickedly Good Reviews.
My review from Sweet Reviews.

Visitors:

new old email guestbook profile evilgnome designs diaryland